NHS Staff awarded for their long service at Tameside and Glossop IC FT
15 October 2019

Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS FT celebrated its staff at the annual Long Service Awards on Friday 11 October.

The event, held at Tameside Hospital, recognised staff who were celebrating 25 and 40 years in the NHS this year.  The awards recognised doctors and nurses, support staff such as domestics and catering staff as well as admin staff.

Opening the awards, Chief Executive of Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS FT, Karen James said, “Every interaction you have with a patient has a positive impact and think of all the interactions that you have had during your time here.  You should be really proud of the difference you make.”

Citations for the awards were written by colleagues, congratulating staff for their commitment and contribution to the hospital and its patients.  There was even a poem written and performed by colleagues of Julia Worthington in the neighbourhood support services team, who was celebrating 25 years’ service.

Lynn Gardner is celebrating 40 years’ service at Tameside, working in women’s services.  When Lynn collected her award she had a standing ovation from her colleagues, who described her as, “always happy to help and kind and supportive.”

The Trust Chair, Jane McCall closing the awards thanked the staff, saying “Working in the NHS is a tough gig, it isn’t easy what you do and you do it with tenacity.

“We know you have other things going on, we have heard this afternoon about tortoises, families, dogs, hobbies and holidays to plan, but we know that you have made amazing friendships and contributions here.”


The members of staff awarded were:

25 Years’ Service Attendees

Katryna Bailey

Beverley Chipchase

Martina Coulding

Pauline Dolan

Simon  Ellenbogen

Emma  Ellison

Sharon Evans

Deborah Farr

Penny  Foulds

Carol Fryer

Jane Green

Elaine  Haydock

Elaine  Heyes

Jayne  Highcock

Jeanette Kitching

Nila Mistry

Julie Nield

Stephanie Ridgway

Sarah  Shaw

Sharon Slater

Sarah Thackeray

Lynne Tracey

Linda Tumelty

Bharti Wadhia

Helen Whitehead

Julia Worthington


40 Years’ Service Attendees

Lynn Gardner